Mudgee Region Tourism was inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the 2019 Destination Country and Outback and Destination Riverina Murray Regional Tourism Awards. The highly prestigious accolade celebrates the region’s incredible efforts and achievements in promoting the region over the years, winning the Destination Marketing category three years in a row.

The celebrations didn’t stop there for Mudgee Region Tourism, who also won Gold in the Visitor Information Services category for the third year in a row.

Mudgee had a total of five tourism partners representing the region at the awards ceremony held at Taronga Western Plains Zoo in Dubbo. Adding to Mudgee Region Tourism’s two exciting wins and further cementing the region’s credentials in the tourism industry was luxury glamping experience Sierra Escape, who won Gold for Unique Accommodation, Kirsten Serviced Apartments who won Gold, and Peppertree Hill Group who won Silver, for Self-Contained Accommodation, and Parkview Hotel brought home Silver for Deluxe Accommodation.

The Regional Tourism Awards provide tourism organisations and individuals the opportunity to gain insight into their industry, their business, and to achieve recognition for their success - rewarding businesses that demonstrate significant achievement throughout the year.

Cara George, CEO of Mudgee Region Tourism comments “We have been working hard to share the love of Mudgee with the rest of Australia – so to be inducted into the Hall of Fame for our destination marketing efforts is both reassuring and humbling. It is the incredible people and partners in our community that make this kind of success possible – we have a great destination, and these wins prove that.

I would also like to congratulate Sierra Escape, Kirsten Serviced Accommodation, Peppertree Hill Group and The Parkview Hotel for their wins. You continue to push boundaries and provide elevated experiences for your guests, making these awards very much deserved.”

Regional Tourism Awards winners will progress to the NSW Tourism Awards as Finalists, with a gala dinner to be held in Sydney 22 November, where they may then progress to the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards in 2020.